NJSLA Announces H. Michael Byrne as its 2019 Person of the Year

Byrne as NJSLA's person of the year

The Surplus Lines Association of New Jersey is proud to announce H. Michael Byrne as its 2019 Person of the Year.  NJSLA will honor Mike at our annual dinner to be held in the Fall.

Michael (Mike) Byrne has nearly 25 years of experience in complex insurance transactional, regulatory and InsurTech matters.  He advises US and international producers, insurers and reinsurers, investors, and technology companies on a broad range of matters, including obtaining regulatory approvals for M&A; change of control and affiliate transactions; forming, licensing and structuring business operations; privacy and data security; drafting and negotiating agreements; legislative and regulatory advocacy; M&A involving producers and service providers; and developing and obtaining approvals for unique products. He delivers practical and business-focused counsel on novel issues.

A Rutgers Law School graduate, Mike has served as the NJSLA’s outside counsel for 20 years, following his colleagues from the LeBoeuf Lamb Law Firm, Jeff Johnson and John Mulhern, both of whom are past POTY honorees. Mike is a past recipient of the NAPSLO/WSIA Richard Bouhan Legislative Advocacy Award, which honors individuals whose advocacy helps advance the legislative interests of the wholesale, specialty and surplus lines industry. He was instrumental in the NJSLA’s efforts to achieve freedom of form for the New Jersey surplus lines market and obtain legislative and regulatory approval for an increase in surplus lines policy fees. Mike served for nearly 10 years on the Board of Directors of the Northeast Division of the Insurance Industry Charitable Foundation.

On a Personal Note

Mike and his wife Tracey have been married 20 years and live in Westfield, NJ with their three daughters—Macky (12), Emmy (8) and Harper (8). Mike enjoys coaching and watching his daughters in soccer and other activities. He enjoys traveling with family and friends, listening to Howard Stern and sports/gambling radio, reading historical fiction, and watching television, including international soccer and certain reality shows that one might not want to admit watching.

Congratulations to Mike for this honor. The NJSLA is planning to hold a banquet in Mike’s honor in the fall. The date will be announced in the near future.


Former Honorees:

2019 – H. Michael Byrne

2018 – Steven Powell

2017 – Daniel Confalone

2016 – Dennis Pellegrino Jr.

2015 – Justin Raphael

2014 – Frank Seigel, CPCU

2013 – Peter J. Barrett

2012 – Charles T.  McCloskey Jr.

2011 – Bernd G. Heinze, Esq.

2010 – Steven R. Gross

2009 – Thomas F. Mulligan

2008 – Francis J.  Mastowski

2007 – Steven M. Zalewitz

2006 – Suzette Bishop Mischler

2005 – R. Max Williamson

2004 – John P. Mulhern


2003 – 

Andrew S. Frazier


2002 – 

Jon Bannett

2001 – Frank Powell, Jr.

2000 – Thomas P. Nerney

1999 – Anthony F. Markel

1998 – 

Tom Harbin, Sr.

1997 – Irvin Saltzman

1996 – 

William H. Malone, Jr.

1995 – John Topoleski, CPCU

1994 – H. James Griffith

1993 – Richard M. Bouhan

1992 – Mary Ellen Rozzell

1991 – Kevin P. Brooks

1989 – 

Michael J. Snead, CPCU CLU


1988 – 

Jerry M. Porcelli


1987 – 

Jack Neubauer, CPCU

1986 – Charles A. McAlear, CPCU

1985 – Joseph M. Walsh

1984 – James F. Johnson, 4th

1983 – 

Frederick H. Brown

1982 – Derek Hughes

1981 – Bernard J. Daenzer

1980 – Maurice H. Saval

1979 – Honorable James W. Bornheimer

1978 – Arnold Chait